Monte Carlo Cost Analysis in Microsoft Project

This forum containts questions about RiskyProject project risk analysis and risk management software: features, issues, problem reports. If you have any problems or question, please submit it here.

Moderator: Intaver Support

Post Reply
Ken
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 9:47 am
Location: California

Monte Carlo Cost Analysis in Microsoft Project

Post by Ken » Thu Oct 08, 2015 12:11 pm

We are running integrated cost and schedule monte carlo risk analysis using your Microsoft Project's addin. However, we are not seeing any results for the cost.
Ken the PM

Intaver Support
Posts: 933
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 9:55 am

Re: Monte Carlo Cost Analysis in Microsoft Project

Post by Intaver Support » Thu Oct 08, 2015 12:14 pm

If you are not seeing any results for cost risk analysis, it is typically because the cost data has been excluded from the Monte Carlo simulation.

When running simulations on Project schedules, by default RiskyProject always runs analysis on the schedule. However, new with version 6, if you are either using the Addin to either calculate or export the results to the RiskyProject standalone, you are given the option to exclude some data types (including cost) as a way to improve performance and decrease the time required to complete the simulations, which can be extremely useful when analyzing extremely large schedules.

To check whether or not you are excluding cost from the analysis, go to the Field Mappings dialog box, the same dialog in which you mapped the cost fields, and at the bottom there are a series of check boxes. If a check box is selected that data will be excluded from the analysis.

Image
Intaver Support Team
Intaver Institute Inc.
Home of Project Risk Management and Project Risk Analysis software RiskyProject
www.intaver.com

Post Reply